Four University of California-Irvine faculty and one alumnus will be inducted in October into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The Cambridge, Mass.-based group recognizes academic, business and government leaders.

Faculty scheduled to be added to the Academy’s roster include Erwin Chemerinsky, founding dean of UCI’s law school; R. Benny Gerber, chemistry professor emeritus; Margaret Gilbert, professor and chair in moral philosophy; and Steven White, a physics professor who has focused on quantum mechanics.

UCI alum Yusef Komunyakaa was also elected to the academy. He won a Pulitzer Prize for his poetry collection Neon Vernacular.